skip navigation

Brian Fishman Fellowship

By AAHA, 02/11/21, 10:15PM EST



COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Applications are now being accepted for the 23rd annual Brian Fishman Fellowship, one of the most sought after opportunities in amateur sports each year, it was announced today by USA Hockey.

The 2021-23 Brian Fishman Fellow will work in the communications department at USA Hockey’s national office in Colorado Springs, Colorado, for a 12-month period beginning in June followed by a second 12-month period in Plymouth, Michigan, home of USA Hockey’s National Team Development Program.

The Brian Fishman Fellowship will be awarded to a soon-to-be (spring 2021) or very recent college graduate pursuing a career in athletic communications. The Fellowship was established in 1999 in honor of the late Brian Fishman, who served as the manager of communications and marketing for USA Hockey’s National Team Development Program. He died unexpectedly on Jan. 7, 1999, at age 28.

The Brian Fishman Fellow will assist with various media and public relations projects, event promotions/operations, social/digital media and publishing initiatives, including work with USA Hockey Magazine, the official publication of USA Hockey and the world’s most widely circulated hockey magazine.

Applications must be received by USA Hockey no later than Friday, March 12, and the application requirements can be found at

The recipient of the Brian Fishman Fellowship will be chosen by a committee that includes representatives of print and broadcast media, the USA Hockey National Team Development Program and collegiate athletic departments, and the Fishman family.

To make a contribution to help perpetuate the fellowship through The USA Hockey Foundation please call 719-538-1162 or visit

For more information, contact Dave Fischer (

NOTES: Sidney Binger (Mason, Mich./Michigan State University) will begin her second year of the fellowship at USA Hockey's National Team Development Program in Plymouth, Michigan, beginning in July … Previous Brian Fishman Fellows include (most recent listed first): Maddy Schachte (Madison, Wis./University of Wisconsin), Chris Krenn (Tampa, Fla./University of South Florida), Sydney Blackman (Glendale, Ariz./Arizona State University), Laurel Young (Petoskey, Mich./Michigan State University), Pat Durant (Norfolk, N.Y./Ohio University), Alyssa Girardi (Dearborn, Mich./Michigan State University), Jasmine Grotto (Alpena, Mich./Wayne State University), Zack Friedli (Rochester, Minn./University of Minnesota Duluth), Brian Smith (Woburn, Mass./Boston College), Alex DiFilippo (East Tawas, Mich./Michigan State University), Caryn Switai (Farmington Hills, Mich./Boston College), Matt Caracappa (Randolph, N.J./Penn State University), Carly Peters (Bloomington, Minn./Syracuse University), Chris Peters(Chicago, Ill./Iowa State University), Craig Stancher (Calumet, Mich./Michigan Tech University), Alex Clark (Glenview, Ill./Colgate University), Christy Jeffries (White Lake, Mich./Boston University), Caitlin Lazaro (Effingham, N.H./University of New Hampshire), Seth Cole (Blue Hill, Maine/St. Michael’s College), Yariv Amir (Plainsboro, N.J./Colgate University), Cassy Maxton(Vandalia, Ohio/Miami University) and Jennifer Dame (St. Louis Park, Minn./St. Cloud State University).