skip navigation

2022 Honorees and Scholarship Recipients Announced

By AAHA, 05/25/22, 9:15AM EDT


MONROE, NJ  - The Atlantic Affiliate is celebrating its 50th Anniversary on June 1 at Forsgate Country Club in Monroe Township, New Jersey. In addition to showcasing the contributions of partners and community members to the growth of amateur hockey in the region, the Affiliate will also recognize its 2022 honorees and scholarship recipients.

To kick off the evening’s recognition, the Affiliate will congratulate the 2022 class of scholarship recipients:

  • Lou Manzione - PA/DE: Evan Bean

  • Lou Manzione - NJ: Antonio Macaluso

  • Daniel Triano: Brett Fyrer

  • High School Player of the Year - Male: Matt Harris

  • High School Player of the Year - Female: Mattie Robitzer

The Affiliate will give this year’s Disabled Disciplines Award to Philadelphia Blind Hockey for its efforts launching a new blind hockey program in Southern New Jersey and Eastern Pennsylvania.

Following the scholarships, the inaugural class of the Ed Snider Award will be brought to the stage. The award named after the Philadelphia Flyers Founder will go to members of the Delaware Valley hockey community who have made an impact in the growth of amateur and community-based hockey programs.

The 2022 Class includes Scott Chamness, Bruce Craig, Ron Goodman, and Don McKee.

Next up to the podium will be the 2022 AAHA Awards, starting with the President’s Award presented by Genova Burns. Cory Hemberger will be recognized for his heroism in saving children who fell through pond ice earlier this year.

The remaining AAHA awards will be presented to the following individuals:

  • New Leader Award: Ryan Carter

  • Volunteer of the Year: Keith Veltre & Dennis Ruppe (Hockey in New Jersey)

  • Official of the Year: Tim Holtz

  • Girls Coach of the Year: Gina D’Arnone

  • Youth Coach of the Year: Nick Beatrice

  • Bob O’Connor Coaching Education: Mike Lichtenberger

The evening will conclude with the induction of a new member of the AAHA Hall of Fame who will be announced that evening.